The Number One Way to be Successful at Long Term Weight Loss


The statistics can seem grim. Studies show nearly 65 percent of dieters return to their pre-dieting weight within three years, this according to Gary Foster, Ph.D., clinical director of the Weight and Eating Disorders Program at the University of Pennsylvania. And, statistics for dieters who lose weight rapidly (I lost my 110 lbs in 81/2 months), according to Wellsphere, a website sponsored by Stanford University, is worse- only 5 percent are successful after one year.

What makes the other minority “dieters” successful long term? Most important is: NEVER GIVING UP! I used to be a “All or Nothing” kind of person. I suspect most people with a weight issue are. I would either start off doing something 100 percent perfectly or, at the least setback, see it as a sign of defeat and decide to start again “Monday” then continue to mow through the day with unhealthy eating thinking since today was already shot I might as well enjoy it and start again tomorrow. The only trouble was, “Monday” never came and I kept on this roller coaster of starting and blowing it for years. This did not only contribute to my weight gain, but it chipped away at my self-esteem. But, now I realize setbacks will always happen. We need to expect them, plan for them, and MOVE ON! Immediately! Not tomorrow or the next meal, right then and there! The difference between people who are successful in weight loss (and in life) is that they never, never, never, give up (thank you Winston Churchill). I no longer throw  the proverbial baby out with the bath water. If somehow Oreos magically fall out of the sky and land in my mouth, I now stop, don’t beat myself up over it, and move on. I don’t use it as an excuse to finish the whole sleeve… or box anymore. I’m still not perfect (psst! No one is!) but I refuse to give in and give up. Nope. Not anymore. Not no way, not no how!

What about you? Have you found yourself stuck in “All-or-Nothing” Thinking? Are you ready to stop this seemingly endless cycle of self-sabotage?  It’s not your fault! (say, what?!) Look for my next blog post that sheds light on what’s really going on.

8 Comments on “The Number One Way to be Successful at Long Term Weight Loss

  1. I have noticed that my meticulousness in recording my diary has decreased lately because things aren’t going the way I believe they should be. THAT is one of my big issues. I get psyched and then yucka when things bomb. I know we will find out whats wrong but in the mean time… I also recognize the fact that I strive for perfection in the things I do, and that is setting myself up for failure because I am not now nor will I ever be perfect.

    • Tina, we can only do the best we can do. Our bodies don’t always want to cooperate! I wish it were as easy as calories-in vs calories-out. It just isn’t. Is it fair? No! But, as I say, if you honestly are doing all you can do (which I know you are) then you can’t let the the “yucka” times (lol) mess with your head! I’m glad you are freeing yourself from the shackles of perfectionism. Striving to do your best is one thing but when it morphs into perfectionism where you can’t be happy unless everything is perfect…well, that’s just a set-up for misery.

  2. Linda, I agreee that positive mental attitude is the only way to beat this weight issue. I have struggled all my life but not no more!!!!I can fall down and get right back up if I choose to and today I choose to !!!! great blog cant wait for more

    • Right on, Corky! The past is over, the future…who knows? All we have is this moment. Right now. To make the best choice we can and move on! No more “picking at scabs” for me! xo

  3. I totally get the all or nothing approach! I think I’m slowly starting to eliminate it but it’s definitely an ongoing process. But the fact you’ve kept your weight off for four years is very encouraging! Congrats!

  4. You accurately describe me too, and I’m curing my Allornothingitis too. Great post. Keep buggering on, as Winnie said so often.

Leave a Reply

