Why We Really Get Fat And What To Do About It

One of the biggest myths perpetrated on dieters (besides “all calories are equal”) is that:

EATING FAT MAKES YOU FAT.

It’s simply not true.

The hormone insulin is what drives fat storage, and what drives insulin? Carbs.

Watch this YouTube video for an easy to understand explanation:

This revelation blew my mind! It explained why I could feel like I needed to eat after a meal when other people seemed full and satisfied. I was starving at the cellular level and high levels of insulin were driving my blood sugar levels so low that I needed to eat again to get them back up to normal.

I was on a roller coaster of highs and lows of blood sugar all day long. When that happens your adrenaline levels shoot up (that’s what causes some people to feel shaky, irritable, and extremely hungry!) and you have no choice but to eat.

This meant my obesity had nothing to do with my character, willpower, laziness, or any other of the thousand things I used to beat myself up over.

It meant I had a metabolic disease.

The treatment?

Cut off the source for the insulin. Cut out the carbs.

Does that mean I never have carbs? No, I do. But, I never have them for breakfast, I never have them without some protein or fat, and I stay away from processed carbs.

Am I always perfect? Nope. But, I feel a heck of a lot better when I make the best choice for my body and that’s what I do 90% of the time.

Remember: Progress, Not Perfection!

(was this post useful? please leave your thoughts in the comment section below, thank you)

Leave a Reply

