How Not To Be A Weekend (Eating) Warrior

The weekdays seem to lend themselves more easily to sticking with an eating plan, because of the structure most of us have due to work and other routine obligations.

But, come the weekend? That’s usually a time to let loose, relax, and for me that meant indulge.

It was a way to “treat” myself for all the hard work I’d done and for being so “good” all week-long, but, as Dr Phil would say: “How’s that workin’ for ya?” (NOT good).

Those two days would completely screw up all my efforts for the week. Now, I know we can’t always be in deprivation-mode and we want to live a little sometimes, but, if my goal was to lose or maintain my weight I knew I had to rethink what I was doing.

I am programmed to reward myself with food (“you did good on your test! Good! Here’s a cookie!).  I try my best not to look to food to make me happy, but if I really want something now, I make sure it is the best. I’m not going to waste my indulgence on some crappy stale doughnut! I save it for the very best-of-the-best, something I can’t get everyday. I eat it on a special plate, SLOWLY, savoring every bite, with NO GUILT, then I move on.

Or, if I’m going out on the weekend with friends, I don’t use that as an excuse to overeat anymore. Now, it’s about the people I’m with, not the food. I make sure I eat something before I go so I’m not hungry when I arrive (hey, I’m human! if I go hungry I’ll make a choice I wish I didn’t!)

A little planning before the weekend is upon me makes a big difference. My motto is: If you’re not planning to succeed, you’re planning to fail.  This works with my weekend eating. I’m not obsessive about it, I just plan out a rough idea the night before. I think about my obligations for the next day and try to think of as many portable protein options that will work on the go. Tip: I never go anywhere without a backup protein in my purse and one stashed in my car. I never know how long I’ll be out somewhere and I never want to get to the point where I get too hungry. I know myself; if that happens I will make a bad food choice!

Some people can’t imagine a weekend without unwinding with a few cocktails, but those empty calories will stop your fat burning for at least three days!  Not only that, but depending on how many carbs are in your drink, it is putting you that much more time behind getting back on track; not to mention it lowers your inhibitions (“Yeah, sure! Bring on the nachos!!).

So…remember your goals and  don’t take the weekend “off” and think you’ll “make up for it on Monday”. 

All you will have done is move 2 steps forward and 3 steps back.

2 Comments on “How Not To Be A Weekend (Eating) Warrior

Leave a Reply

