Book Recommendations for Weight Loss Success

Anyone who knows me knows that I love books and am an avid reader. I have read many books over the years on losing weight and want to share my favorites with you.

First one up is The Beck Diet Solution by Dr Judith Beck PhD.  Don’t let the name fool you, it’s not a “diet”.  It uses Cognitive Behavioral Techniques (Dr Judith Beck’s father is Dr Aaron T. Beck who originally developed CBT) that teaches you concrete skills to stay on whatever eating plan you choose.  I find myself referring to this book often and it has helped me tremendously in my weight loss journey.

Next is Brain Over Binge by Kathryn Hansen.  The subtitle is: Why I Was Bulimic, Why Conventional Therapy Didn’t Work, and How I Recovered for Good.  Now, I have never been bulimic, but this book was fascinating nonetheless.  It introduced me to the idea that we have a “reptilian brain” which, as I understand it, is the part of our brain that “wants what it wants when it wants it”.  This book gave me ways to talk back to that part of my brain and not let it take over my eating.

Next one up is one sure to be a classic: Why We Get Fat: and What to Do About It by Gary Taubes.  I was originally introduced to Gary Taubes via his book: Good Calories, Bad Calories: Fats, Carbs, and the Controversial Science of Diet and Health.  That book really opened my eyes to exactly how food works in our body and is chock full of science and research studies to back it up.  It really appealed to the science-geek in me but for a more accessible read to the average lay-person, while still backed by science, his Why We Get Fat is a must-read for everyone.

Another must-read on my list is: Spark: the Revolutionary New Science of Exercise and the Brain by John J. Ratey.  I can’t review it any better than the following reviewer from Amazon, so read it and be inspired, too…

5.0 out of 5 stars A liberating and inspiring source of life transformingknowledge, October 1, 2012

“This book is an engaging and entertaining example of infotainment. You read interesting stories and examples that are weaved together to tell a greater story: the relationship between physical activity, health and mental function. You will learn the why’s that exemplify all of the positive things physical activity does to your body and mind.

Revelation after revelation, this book is a wealth spring of liberating knowledge that will inspire you to become or stay active. The author’s voice is sincere and dynamic. His examples are numerous and well based in both the sciences and the real world. I have recommended this book to dozens of people!

This book is a liberating and inspiring source of life transforming knowledge! I thoroughly enjoyed reading every word of it!”

The book Sugar Nation: the Hidden Truth Behind America’s Deadliest Habit and the Simple Way to Beat It by Jeff O’Connell is a great read.  While there are many books which will extol the dangers of sugar, this book does it in an engaging and readable way.  It especially hit home with me as the author talks about watching his father battle diabetes, and then getting diagnosed himself with prediabetes (something I have gone through also).

Last, but most certainly not least is The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Living: An Expert Guide to Making the Life-Saving Benefits of Carbohydrate Restriction Sustainable and Enjoyable by Stephen D. Phinney and Jeff S. Volek.  It is practically required reading for anyone interested in nutrition science.  I constantly refer back to it and consider it the “bible” for low-carb living and science.

There are many more books I recommend and I will leave those for another post on another day. I hope you found something that speaks to you and your circumstances in my recommendations.  Please share some of your favorite books on the subject as I am always looking to learn (and read!) more.

Leave a Reply

